AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Greetings

Hello everyone, I am Carlos from Spain.
I am a 30 year old IT Technical Engineer and have been working on my dream project for the last year in my spare time. After 9 years as a hobbyist game programmer I felt ready to take on the challenge of pursuing my dream career inspired by my partner and the on-going boom in indie development.

The last module I have been working on was the questing system, and it is something that just didn’t feel right. The whole concept of the game relies heavily on randomization, scrapping the traditional linear storyline/progression, making sure every playthrough feels new and different. In such a dynamic and changing world the traditional NPC interaction model felt too stiff and out of place with rest of the concept.

A couple of weeks ago it finally came to me and I threw out the whole questing system and started to design a system more like a chat, parsing strings searching for keywords and wildcards, building a database of nouns, verbs, adjectives, and keywords that would produce a more interactive experience (I bet that sounds very familiar to everyone here). Essentially it was a very primitive version of what you all know here as chatterbots or natural language processing.

A few days ago I was completely stuck. I realized the way I searched the strings and my database were flawed and produced unwanted results. So I started to search the web to see if there was any similar attempt I could use as reference and learn from. Needless to say I was incredibly surprised that not only had someone “attempted” this idea, but there was a whole discipline dedicated to it called “Natural Language Processing”. So for the past 3 days I have been fascinated reading everything I found about NLP, chatterbots, the Turing Test, etc…