AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

AI has no first principles

[ # 16 ]

Back in the early to mid 1980’s, there was a lot of fanfare and hype over a computing project called “The Connection Machine”, Danny Hillis and others from MIT strung together a huge collection of single-bit microprocessors into one immense super computer. Originally designed for applications in AI, it ended up being used for other tasks, instead. At the time I first heard about it, the article I read inspired visions of doing the same thing with a bunch (256, to be exact) of 8-bit 6502 CPU’s (normally found in ATARI and Sinclair computers, at the time), with a (then) whopping 8MB of memory. But let’s face it, I was a student at the time, with a budget to match, so the project never got off paper.

[ # 17 ]
Dave Morton - Jan 2, 2013:

Back in the early to mid 1980’s, there was a lot of fanfare and hype over a computing project called “The Connection Machine”, Danny Hillis and others from MIT strung together a huge collection of single-bit microprocessors into one immense super computer.

I remember that was much-touted for a while. I bought that book when it came out, but I never read the whole thing and it ultimately turned out to be of little interest to me. I talked to a friend of mine who was an expert in the computer field around that time and he said although the idea was good, the Connection Machine was badly engineered, whatever that means: either the physical structure was poor, or certain specific design decisions were poor, probably.

Here’s another such multiprocessor project I learned about recently:

Economically, the system cannot support this growth in the cost of factories. At
the beginning of this year, 1998, the construction of about 20 fabrication plants
was started. Before the first devices have come out of any of them, at least four