AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Handling multiple bots on a local server

I am new to ChatScript and chatbots in general and experiencing what I suspect are beginner’s problems. The documentation basically states that it is possible to run multiple bots on one server, but not precisely how, so I figured it must be pretty easy and now I just can’t seem to get this right.
Right now there is only ever one (default) bot working on a server and I can’t figure out how to access others.

The setting

I have two bots which are mainly just copies of Harry, meaning I copied his control script, introductions and keywordless into three new folders. The latter both are pretty much empty now. In simplecontrol.top I changed every occurrence of “Harry” to their respective names and commented out the line about quibbling so they don’t come up with any smug replies. As intended, they basically just keep repeating their “I don’t know what to say” line by now, which I changed to “Hi I am <their name>” for both of them in order to tell them apart.

Building both bots works fine, their filesBotname.txt contain only the path to their respective directory. When I build bot 1 I cant talk to him, he keeps saying his name. When I build bot 2 the same happens for him.

The problem

However, when I try to start chatscript by typing a username followed by “:botname” as suggested in the Advanced User’s manual, I only ever encounter the one bot which has been built last. It can even be Harry if I made a fresh build of him before last exiting. The “:botname” does not seem to have any effect on whom I am talking to, it just always starts the default bot. (I am guessing it is the default bot since it always is the last one built and they probably overwrite the system’s default bot each time by all having Harry’s simplecontrol.top.)