AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

New to Chatbots!

Hi all,

My name is Ray, and while I’m a complete beginner when it comes to chatbots, I think you’ll be seeing a lot of me.

I have been coding since I was 13 years old when I got an Acorn Electron and promptly set about to take over the world! This took the form of a World Cup Football Management simulation game I wrote. Unfortunately I was never able to win the world cup as I could never make it past the quarter finals! My brother on the hand would obliterate every team in his path to win the trophy every time he played! So much for inside knowledge!!

In recent times I have started my own app development business and have produced a couple of apps that can be found on the play store.

I have been interested in AI for a good few years, but have not actually thought of trying to do it myself until now. I visited the Loebner Prize at Bletchley Park this past weekend, and have to admit I was hooked. Now I have begun a deep and all encompassing love affair with all things AI….which has reignited my desire to take over the world!

I like to do things the hard way, so I will be developing my bot from scratch. It will be an interesting journey I’m sure.

I hope to talk with lots of you over the coming months and years as we enjoy the burgeoning world of AI together!

Ray

[ # 1 ]

Welcome Ray.
Even though you are developing your bot from scratch, you also have a choice to develop (or not), your chatbot interpreter from scratch. Pros and cons accompany either approach.

[ # 2 ]

Hi Merlin.

Thanks for the welcome grin

I’m still undecided on the interpreter at the moment. I would like to build my own, but this would dramatically increase the workload obviously. I have looked at program-o as a possible alternative.

But i do like to make things difficult for myself lol

[ # 3 ]