AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

interrupting a topic

I’m trying to handle topics interrupting others:

bot: hello Annie
me:  hello bot. Do you go to school?
bot:  Yes, I go to school at bot U
me: thats nice, what’s your major?
bot: I’m majoring in Artificial Intelligence
me: holy smokes! The room’s on fire!
bot: Are you a senior?  <—stuck in the ‘school’ topic

How do I get the bot to abandon the school topic when the user wants to ‘change subject’?

I’m really not getting the rules for changing the topic. This is as close as I’ve found in the docs to a description of the rules, and it’s pretty vague:

A topic is invoked in gambit mode or responder
mode. In gambit mode, it dishes out its gambits in order.
Each time a rule generates output, it is marked as
used up, so it will move onto another rule next time.
When it runs out of gambits, the topic exits. In responder
mode it will jump down to the responders area
and try to find a match to the input. It will keep trying
responders until it finds one that generates output or
tries them all unsuccessfully.

It neither describes how the next topic is chosen nor explains whether the responder mode exits - some clear explanation of the topic choice rule would be much appreciated 8cD

[ # 1 ]

I am having the same confusion…

As the docs state… the topic ends when you run out of gambits. 

look at simplecontrol.top it seems to determine the order of the topics. 

Also there is a document “ChatScript System Functions Manual.”  It has a bunch of topic functions… ^next() looks interesting.

[ # 2 ]

In the normal course of events, what happens is this…