AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Chatbot from bottom up - what theory do I need?

Hello everyone,

I’d loke to ask what sorts of books rearding chatbots I should start reading to make my own one? I’m not a CS professional but I know C++/STL, Java and Python. I’ve also read books on data structures and algorithms and I’ve done some Coursera courses on that.

What I don’t know is what I should read about language processing - books on NLP such as Juravsky’s book? NTLK? AI? Machine learning? It’s an ocean of information and I don’t know where to dive smile

What do I want: I work for a university and I want to write a chatbot that can answer question regarding the application/admission. Please don’t take into consideration if the bot will be a web-based or standalone. I’m doing it for my purposes only so let’s assume I just want to have a py file or a cpp file or somthing that can be a chatbot. But again, as I’ve said, I’d like to know what to start from in chatbot theory, not programming languages.

Thanks in advance for any answers. Sorry if I breach any guidelines, this is my first message here smile

[ # 1 ]

Welcome Alexander,
You might start with:
How To Create Your Own Customised Chatbot For Beginners - Chatbots 101
https://www.chatbots.org/ai_zone/viewthread/492/

Unless you want to build your own system/interpreter, you do not really need much knowledge about NLP or machine learning. You are using an input pattern and response (which you build from the Q&As; on your university admission site).
The input/responses are usually called volleys.

You could do it with a modification of NLTK’s chat package.
http://www.nltk.org/api/nltk.chat.html