AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Hello, a few Question about Research and Development

Hello i’m from Indonesia

I started to learn chatbots, but there is a few question in mind

1. How long needed to learn chatbot (with a basic of progammer) ?
2. I read some bots need training, how much it cost to train a bot ? and how much if it not using English (ie. Indonesian) ?
3. I wanted to start with rivescript and chatscripts, are they hard ?

thank you

[ # 1 ]

Hello, Yulian, and welcome to chatbots.org! smile

Let me see if I can answer your questions. Bear in mind, however, that I’m not an expert with either ChatScript or RiveScript, so better answers may exist. Fortunately, the creators of both of these chatbot platforms visit here on a fairly regular basis, and may chime in here at some point, so you stand a good chance of getting their views on the subject.

What I’m about to relate here is a more or less “worst case” (well “worst” is probably a poor choice of word here, but I’ll keep it for now) scenario, but it’s better to get an understanding of the scope of what you’re asking, right from the start.

1.) How long needed to learn chatbot?

No matter which chatbot platform you decide on (and deciding this depends heavily on what you already know,. though not in areas of programming, necessarily), there will be a “learning curve”. Neither ChatScript nor RiveScript should be difficult to learn the basics of, but both will take time to “master” (i.e. learning enough to be able to write new conversation rules, responses and “gambits” without having to refer to reference material every time). Expect a minimum of 100+ hours of work and practice to gain “minimum competency”, and probably more. Of course your experience may vary, but I feel that this is a fairly decent starting point. smile

2.) how much it cost to train a bot?