AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

CX Company, chatbot market leader in the Netherlands since 2005, will speak on the Amsterdam Chatbots Meetup on Wednesday, Oct 18!

Cannot load default ChatScript bot on an EC2 instance

Hey guys,
I am relatively new to the whole chatbots thing, but so far I have been able to install ChatScript on an EC2 instance. but when I run this command:

./LinuxChatScript64 client=localhost:1024 

and runs as expected as it initiates a normal chatbot simulation in the ssh session.
However when I try it from a web browser it simply doesnt work!
I am using the Amazon AMI and also it doesn’t seem to let me add the cronjob as well.
What could I be doing wrong?

[ # 1 ]

Hi Timothy

to run the cs-server from command line:

./LinuxChatScript64 port=1024

to run the client “tester” (from command line):

./LinuxChatScript64 client=localhost:1024

Now,
what you mean with “when try it from a web browser” ?

giorgio

[ # 2 ]

What I meant from a web browser is when I type my server’s DNS into the url bar, it loads the chat page as expected but does not load the bot when I fill out my username and message fields and sending it.

[ # 3 ]

still not clear to me :-(
with “my server” do you mean a web frontend server ?

You have to implement in backend a tcp client that dialogate with ChatScript server. 

.————————.
| web server |
.————————.
  |   
  v
.—————————.
| CS TCP client |
.—————————-.
  |   
  v
.———————————-.
| CS engine server |
.———————————-.

[ # 4 ]

Well I think it would be easier for me to show you what I mean.
Here is the link for the CS on the EC2 instance: ec2-13-55-23-160.ap-southeast-2.compute.amazonaws.com

However now that you have pointed that out to me I have a feeling that I have not set up the CS TCP client properly.

[ # 5 ]

> However now that you have pointed that out to me I have a feeling that I have not set up the CS TCP client properly.

I think so. I feel it depends on ui.php PHP script (the CS-client) you call here: