AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum
Cannot load default ChatScript bot on an EC2 instance

Hey guys,
I am relatively new to the whole chatbots thing, but so far I have been able to install ChatScript on an EC2 instance. but when I run this command:

./LinuxChatScript64 client=localhost:1024 

and runs as expected as it initiates a normal chatbot simulation in the ssh session.
However when I try it from a web browser it simply doesnt work!
I am using the Amazon AMI and also it doesn’t seem to let me add the cronjob as well.
What could I be doing wrong?

[ # 1 ]

Hi Timothy

to run the cs-server from command line:

./LinuxChatScript64 port=1024

to run the client “tester” (from command line):

./LinuxChatScript64 client=localhost:1024

Now,
what you mean with “when try it from a web browser” ?

giorgio

[ # 2 ]

What I meant from a web browser is when I type my server’s DNS into the url bar, it loads the chat page as expected but does not load the bot when I fill out my username and message fields and sending it.

[ # 3 ]

still not clear to me :-(
with “my server” do you mean a web frontend server ?

You have to implement in backend a tcp client that dialogate with ChatScript server. 

.————————.
| web server |
.————————.
  |   
  v
.—————————.
| CS TCP client |
.—————————-.
  |   
  v
.———————————-.
| CS engine server |
.———————————-.

[ # 4 ]

Well I think it would be easier for me to show you what I mean.
Here is the link for the CS on the EC2 instance: ec2-13-55-23-160.ap-southeast-2.compute.amazonaws.com

However now that you have pointed that out to me I have a feeling that I have not set up the CS TCP client properly.

[ # 5 ]

> However now that you have pointed that out to me I have a feeling that I have not set up the CS TCP client properly.

I think so. I feel it depends on ui.php PHP script (the CS-client) you call here:

function sendMessage(data)//Sends inputs to the ChatScript server, and returns the response-  data - a JSON string of input information