AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Rivescript support for DB and working with Spark/Hadoop

I am complete newbie to Chatbot world and was recently looking for bot programming. I have come across RS and have been learning and started using a bit (with perl). I need to understand how RS would work with DB and is there way to connect to DB and get information in RS or would we need to have something like perl DBI code written inside to work with DB

Is it possible to generate automated RS file for interaction through perl/ any other language so that no manual typing (kind of an intelligent bot)

Also how many users could RS handle at a time (understand that it is more dependent on infrastructure but is there any limitation from RS perspective).

[ # 1 ]

Perl Object Macros

You can get your bot to run Perl code as part of its reply in two ways: defining them in your Perl code via `$rs->setSubroutine()` or by defining them in-line in RiveScript code with `> object`

use RiveScript;
use 
DBI;

# Your DBI object. `our` to make it exportable from `package main`;
# if only using setSubroutine() this could be declared with `my` too,
# as long as it's in scope from your function.
our $dbh DBI->connect($dburl);

# Perl
my $rs = new RiveScript();
$rs->setSubroutine("zipcode"sub {
    my 
($self$args) = @_;

my $sth $dbh->prepare("SELECT * FROM cities WHERE zipcode = ? LIMIT 1");

my $res $sth->execute($args->[0]);
    return 
$res->{name};
});

###############

// You could also define that method in RiveScript like so
what city has zip code #
- <call>zipcode <star></call>

object zipcode perl
    my 
($self$args) = @_;

my $sth $main::dbh->prepare("SELECT * FROM cities WHERE zipcode = ? LIMIT 1");

my $res $sth->execute($args->[0]);
    return 
$res->{name};
object