AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Using Bots Without Permission

[ # 46 ]

Even the Safari Reader requires you to first access the webpage as-is before engaging it. As far as the legality of ad-blockers in general go, I’m no expert and it seems like these issues are still being decided in court. But these programs don’t do anything to manipulate or redistribute creative content on a platform it was not originally intended for.

Linking content from other websites such that it displays on your own website (or within your app) is in itself frought with legal issues. For one, if it is not made explicitly clear that the work your displaying is not your own, you’re likely in violation of laws concerning competitive business practices. From the description of your app, it sounds like you should be concerned about this. But the most important problem is that you are complicit in unlawfully distributing someone else’s work to a third party. The bitlaw website has the following to say about derivative works, particularly concerning displaying images from external websites within your own:

When the content of another page is incorporated into one’s own page by means of an unauthorized IMG link, there is no direct copyright infringement by the creator of the link. This is because the link’s creator never copies the pirated content; she merely provides a visiting browser with instructions to retrieve the image, which is then incorporated into the overall page on the user’s machine. Thus the only person who copies the protected image is the final user. This does not mean that the creator of the link escapes liability, however. Copyright law provides that one who knowingly makes an infringement possible can herself be held liable under a theory of contributory infringement.

(emphasis mine)