AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Purchasing Chatbots at Second Life.

While perusing the Second Life Marketplace for chatbots, I noticed that two versions of Eliza were being sold, and one version of iGod.  Anyone familiar with chatbots knows the historical significance of Eliza and there exists a version or two of iGod at Pandorabots.

And, it made me wonder, with the air of permissiveness with regard to secretly “enlisting” other people’s chatbots for various apps and scripts, and the ease with which it can be accomplished, is there anything preventing an enterprising developer from “acquiring” the link to a publicly available bot, yours or mine, and selling it at Second Life?

[ # 1 ]

I think it comes down to suing them for copyright infringement and intellectual property theft but I am by no means an expert on the law.  I guess if you found someone in SL doing this then you would have to do what you did with Nathan and ask them to remove your bot and see how that goes.

[ # 2 ]

It is fine with me if somebody “soups up” my True AI chatbot

http://www.scn.org/~mentifex/AiMind.html

and “sells” it at Second Life. Although it is hard to code the JavaScript artificial intelligence (JSAI), a market may exist for loading the AI Mind up with special knowledge bases—sort of like gift books specially printed for children with details pertaining to the child receiving the book as a gift.