AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

If a bot had a brain, what would be it’s thought process? 

I came here as a complete noob. Well… I still am lol. Other newbies must also wonder how the bot works.

Please describe in layman’s terms how a bot functions when you say hello to it.

“Gosh, it would be awful pleasin’
To reason out the reason
For things I can’t explain
Then perhaps I’ll deserve your
And be even worthy of you
If I only had a brain”
Tin man

[ # 1 ]

That quite depends on the bot. There are various systems that go about it in different ways. The simplest and most common is called “pattern matching” and works like a lookup table. The bot’s creator first makes a list of all expected inputs and writes them down along with default answers to return.

input: Hello.
answer: Hello to you to.

input: How are you?
answer: I am fine.

input: Yes or no?
answer: Yes.

When the bot gets an input, it simply looks it up in the list and responds with the corresponding default answer. Every answer is manually rigged. Of course, you can never anticipate every exact input, so the list also has answers in response to just a few keywords. And when the list of answers does not contain any matching input or keyword to what the user said? Then it simply fails, and usually the bot gives a random default answer to change the topic.