AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Newbie requires jargon buster

Hi all, I am completely new to chatbots and need to have a good rummage around to improve general knowledge and get a good understanding of some of the jargon - ‘maps’, ‘pattern matching’ etc… Does anyone have any clear definitions of these? Also does anyone have any guidelines on best/worse practises for creating bots?

Much appreciated Rich

[ # 1 ]

It just so happens I composed a AI jargon dictionary in layman’s terms. It’s not the most comprehensive, but I think you’ll get the gist smile. Not sure what sort of mapping you’re referring to though.
Pattern matching is the most common method used in chatbots, but I’ll leave that to others to explain.

[ # 2 ]

Hiya, Rich, and welcome to chatbots.org! smile

Before I begin giving explanations for the things you’ve asked about, I was wondering if you could give us a brief outline of your past technical experience (e.g. programming, web design/development, etc.). This will give us a frame of reference, and could help to determine how exhaustive/technical the explanations should be. It’s preferable not to over or under simplify things, IMHO. smile

[ # 3 ]

“mapping” is a general term that means the same thing as “function”, as in y = f(x). The word is usually reserved for functions whose input and output are not simple numbers. Like a function that “maps” a person to their favorite color.