AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Getting the value of an argument via ^argument(n)

I’m just starting to learn ChatScript, and I haven’t found a solution to a problem I’m having trying to use ^argument(n) from within an outputmacro to loop through all its arguments.

outputmacro: ^testmacro variable ( ^arg1 ^arg2 ^arg3 ^arg4 )
= ^argument($_argIndex)
code using that value...
$_argIndex += 1

^argument($_argIndex) will return matching variables _0 to _3 for $_argIndex = 1 to 4.

However, I couldn’t find a way to read the value of _0 rather than the matching variable name. I have tried ^$_argValue to no avail.

Enabling :trace all gives me:

System call ^argument(`1`)
NOPROBLEM ^argument(1) => `_0`
$_argvalue = ^argument(_0)
System call ^return(`$_argvalue`)
ENDCALL ^return(_0) => `_0

How should I proceed if I want to use the value of an argument within the outputmacro itself?

Apologies in advance if this is answered in the docs, I did do my research and came out empty.
Thank you

EDIT: I should note that when accessing _0 directly (in a comparison for instance, or logging something like ^“value is: _0”) I get the value of that argument just fine.

[ # 1 ]

I figured out a workaround for now. I just parse an active json string containing all arguments into an array so I can iterate through it the same way I would iterate through them with ^argument. Not very elegant though as I have to edit the json string to match the arguments

$_argIndex 0
= ^jsonparse( ^"[ ^arg1 ^arg2 ^arg3 ^arg4 ]" )
$_length = ^length$_args )

loop$_length )
# ... same code as before using $_argValue
$_argIndex += 1

I’m assuming I’d need to wrap the variable in two layers of active strings so $_argValue can become ^“_0” on the first evaluation then the actual value on the 2nd evaluation. I don’t know how though.