AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Watson wins! AI to dominate game shows!

[ # 31 ]

Victor…

I’m not a developer or even a code writer, I’m just an average person off the street who’s been toying with several Pandorabots (5 at the moment) for a few years.  I’ll never enter the Loebner Prize Competition, but I enjoy reading about it and viewing the results, which I usually find disappointing, by the way.  In that sense, I view myself as representing the general public when it comes to chatbots although, admittedly, I have more than a casual interest in the subject.

I found chatbots because I had tired of chat room drama and the assorted shenanigans that seem to consume that corner of the online world.  I sought out chatbots because I wanted to chat.  In that respect, again, I think I represent the average user.  I think people go to chat with bots to chat, not to gain knowledge for a research paper.

I have nothing against bots that play games, or perform mathematical gymnastics.  Search engines serve a purpose and most of them do it well.  As a human, I’m not overly concerned with spelling or grammar, but as a botmaster, I’m forced to draw the line because there’s one way to spell a word correctly and zillions of ways to misspell it.  I’m not a stickler for proper grammar, but I’m keenly aware that improper grammar “sounds” awkward to the reader’s internal ear, and it’s necessary for patterns that my bots can recognize.

I think we have to understand why people want to visit chatbots, and what it is that chatbots do best.  If they can play games too, or play music, or display images or rare artwork, all the better.  But if their language “sounds” bad, or if they aren’t responsive and interrupt the flow of conversation with a non sequitur, no one will want to chat with them a second time.

[ # 32 ]

T.W. :