AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Microsoft Kinect (or other vision tech)

Hi Chaps,

I’m just about to start playing around with the Kinect sensor with a view to building some vision and object recognition etc in to ALF.

I must admit, I’m a complete newbie when it comes to image processing with regard to vision and was really just wondering if any of you guys on here had any pointers/tips on anything Kinect related (if you have used it) or any good, decent vision links (papers, API’s etc).

OpenCV seems to be the defacto, so I’ll be starting with that.

Just looking for thoughts really smile

Dan

[ # 1 ]

Hey, Dan, have you looked into the Microsoft Kinect SDK yet? I realize that the SDK is for use on a Windows platform (ALF is on a Linux-based cluster, is it not?), but since the SDK has resources for working in C#/C++, it shouldn’t be too difficult to write executables for Linux (if you have a Windows machine, that is) smile

I’ve also read quite a few articles at robot.net that involve using Kinect. You may find some useful resources there.

[ # 2 ]

This video has a flying robot ... (and other hacks)

http://www.youtube.com/v/ho8KVOe_y08

Sounds like you are on the right track.

Please go on about it ...

[ # 3 ]

Hi Dan,

Sounds like a good idea. There are not many chatbots around responding to other input than typed text. Would you love to hear more about your progress!!!

[ # 4 ]

Interesting area of work. Could the $100,000 Loebner gold medal be at stake after a bit more development by Dan?

[ # 5 ]

heheh, I wouldnt go that far!  But it’d be a nice hope that some of what Im working on at the moment can maybe push the frontier a bit more smile