AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

Announcing RiveScript for Python!

Any Python coders here? I’ve just finished a port of RiveScript to Python!

RiveScript is a chatbot scripting language with a really simple text-based syntax (simpler than ChatScript, anyway wink) and isn’t XML-based either.

The Python version is up on GitHub if anyone wants to check it out! It only took a couple days to program so I welcome any bug reports that people find. smile

https://github.com/kirsle/rivescript-python

[ # 1 ]

Thanks for the heads-up, Noah! I’m not a Python programmer by any stretch of the imagination (the only reason I have Python on my box is for Blender, and other apps), but I know of at least one person here that’s at least passingly familiar with it, and I’m sure they’ll chime in soon. smile

[ # 2 ]

Hi Noah,

Yes, there are a few of us Python coders here. I’ve brought a few chatter robots online with Python and discussed it here with other coders. I realize that this is brand new code, but I would like to ask, does this new version of RiveScript have any support for the Natural Language Toolkit (nltk.org) which is also in Python?

[ # 3 ]

It doesn’t support NLTK, and I don’t know how it would support it if I wanted to. wink RiveScript is more of a stand-alone thing like AIML is.

[ # 4 ]

Noah, you should talk to CR Hunt about the NLTK and it’s uses and functions. I know from some of her earlier posts that she’s at least passingly familiar with it, so it wouldn’t hurt to talk to her about it, if she’s interested. smile

[ # 5 ]
Noah Petherbridge - Apr 24, 2012:

It doesn’t support NLTK, and I don’t know how it would support it if I wanted to. wink RiveScript is more of a stand-alone thing like AIML is.